People can react to foods quite differently, and there are a number of common foods such as milk or peanuts which many people are sensitive to. How to eat gluten free is a major concern for those sensitive to this lectin found in wheat and other grains. This is because wheat is such a common component of the human diet and has been so since the start of agriculture.
Anybody with a sensitivity should which form of this gluten causes a problem. Not all people are equally sensitive to all the different types. Some are able to tolerate wheat varieties such kamut or faro, for instance, or perhaps rye, while others cannot eat any at all. Fortunately, there are several grains, including common ones like rice and corn, which are free of this harmful lectin.
With wheat being the main problem, it becomes necessary to abstain from any foods with this as an ingredient: this means all except gluten free forms of breads, cake, cookies, and other baked foods. As these are very common at tempt the appetite, this can be understandably difficult. However, it is best to resist, as otherwise your problems will simply persist.
Also be on your guard for hidden sources of wheat. This is often used as a thickening, so read labels carefully. Avoid any which are marked as containing gluten, but also be aware that certain potato chip brands also contain wheat. Also make sure that sauces are thickened with cornstarch, not ordinary flour.
Even if there is only a small amount of flour as an ingredient, the food should be avoided. It does not take much of a gluten to cause all the symptoms. Only complete abstention is at all effective, so it is necessary to be absolutely sure.
For those with only a limited choice of foodstuffs which makes it almost impossible to avoid eating wheat, sprouting it destroys the gluten and renders it harmless. Essene Brad, made only from sprouted wheat, can be a useful substitute.But make sure it does not contain any normal flour as well. Cooking or other processing can sometimes render certain foods harmless, as is the case with rice
Fortunately, there are a number of grains and other starches which can replace the harmful foods. Corn, millet and other more uncommon grains such as amaranth or millet are suitable and safe to eat, while potatoes and other starchy root vegetables are also fine. Apart from this most vegetables as well a meat, poultry and dairy products can form the basis of a very satisfactory diet.